Salted Caramel Brown Butter Snickerdoodles

photo (5)

Hello!

I know it’s been awhile since anyone has posted on this blog- with Isabel preparing for college and me doing theatre, neither of us had much time to bake this summer. However, I came across this recipe on tumblr and knew I had to try it. They were a hit with everyone who tried one. I think they came out very well, if not entirely how they are meant to be. I didn’t feel like the caramel flavor came through as much as hoped it would; most of the cookies did not have a visible, noticeable caramel center like I had seen in photos. The caramels for the most part just melted into the cookie itself and added a little extra chewiness (which was still delicious.) My theory is that I either used the wrong brand of caramel (I used Werthers, but many other caramel-filled cookie recipes recommend Kraft) or that I did not put enough in per cookie. Also, I used coarse sea salt as recommended, but found that the coarseness prevented it from being evenly distributed, so you would encounter bursts of saltiness with some bites and not with others. It wasn’t particularly bothersome but it’s something I would want to improve upon if I made them again. The recipe also recommends measuring out two tablespoons of dough for a cookie, but I found this to be quite large; when the cookies spread out in the oven they started merging into each other.

Nevertheless, these cookies are irresistible and not particularly challenging to make. You could even omit the caramel and just make the brown butter snickerdoodles and they would still be great. I got this recipe from The Recipe Critic and I didn’t really change anything, so I just thought I would share my attempt at it and hopefully help you troubleshoot if you decide to make these cookies.

Happy Baking!

-Maggie

10/20/17 UPDATE: Since these cookies were so popular last time, I made them again this weekend for an upcoming cookie swap at work. I also sent some to Isabel at college, and I’ve been told they’re a hit. I used Kraft caramels this time, which was a significant improvement over my last attempt. Here’s a picture of this batch:

20131020-210446.jpg

Salted Caramel Brown Butter Snickerdoodles

2½ cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 cup unsalted butter, sliced
1¼ cup dark brown sugar
½ cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 egg yolk
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon plain Greek yogurt
1 cup caramel squares, cut into ¼’s
¼ cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
Coarse Sea salt
In a medium sized bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, cinnamon, and salt and set aside.
To brown the butter, heat a medium saucepan to medium high heat. Add the sliced butter, whisking frequently. You will notice the butter starting to become frothy on the top and brown specks will start to form along the bottom. You have to watch it closely because the turn happens quickly and you don’t want it to burn. You will start to smell a nutty aroma and once it turns to a brown color, remove from heat and let it cool to room temperature.
While the butter is cooling, cut the caramel squares into ¼’s.
In a stand mixer, combine the brown butter and brown sugar, and ½ cup granulated sugar. (The ¼ cup sugar will be used for rolling in the cookies). Mix until blended and smooth.
Beat in egg, yolk, vanilla and yogurt and mix until combined. Slowly add the dry ingredients until combined.
Form the dough into a ball and cover with plastic. Chill in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes or overnight.
Once you are ready to bake preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Measure about 2 tablespoons of dough and roll into a ball. Flatten the ball and place 1-2 caramel squares inside, wrap the cookie dough over the caramel and roll back into a ball. Make sure it is completely covered so that the caramel won’t stick to the pan.
Mix ¼ cup sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl and roll each cookie in the mixture. Place on a cookies on a parchment lined cookie sheet 2 inches apart. Sprinkle lightly with sea salt. (I used coarse sea salt)
Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the edges turn lightly brown. The centers will be soft. Allow to cool for 2-3 minutes, and transfer to a wire cooling rack to cool completely.
One thought on “Salted Caramel Brown Butter Snickerdoodles

Leave a Reply

