Chocolate-Chip Caramel Pretzel Cookies

Cookies

Hello!

My apologies that neither of us have posted in awhile- I just started a new job and Isabel is busy finishing up senior year.  But now that my dance classes are over, I would like to get back to baking!

In honor of my friend Susan’s birthday, I made a small batch of these fun cookies for her.  I adapted a basic chocolate-chip cookie recipe that I found on a website a few years ago and have loved ever since (the best part? No eggs, so you can eat the dough guilt-free!)  Anyway, this is pretty easy; the most difficult part was chopping up the caramels.  I used about ten candies chopped into eighths, which took some elbow grease, but it may be easier if you used a larger knife.  The smaller you can get them to, the better.  My pretzel pieces turned out to be a little larger than I wanted relative to the size of the cookies; I would aim to get them to about a quarter inch. Also, these are fragile, so be careful removing them from the pan.

Enjoy!
-Maggie

Chocolate-Chip Caramel Pretzel Cookies

1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled to room temperature

1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1/3 cup small pretzel sticks, chopped

8-10 soft caramel candies (I used Werther’s) cut into smallest possible pieces

Preheat the oven to 300°.  In a bowl, beat butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar until well blended.  Beat in 3 tablespoons of water and the vanilla until smooth.

In another bowl, mix flour, baking soda, and salt.  Stir or beat into butter mixture until well-incorporated.  Stir in chocolate chips, pretzels, and caramel pieces.

Drop dough in 1 tablespoon portions, 2 inches apart, onto buttered baking sheets.  Bake approximately 14 minutes, until cookies are browned, but an area in the center is still pale.

With a wide spatula, transfer cookies to racks to cool.  If hot cookies start to break, slid a thin spatula under them to release and let stand on pan to firm up for 2-5 minutes.  Then transfer to racks to cool completely.

Makes about 18-20 cookies.

P.S.  I would give you the source of the original recipe, but I can’t seem to find it.  The webpage may have been taken down since I found it.

Leave a comment